My Daily Roadtrip

My job review

Note: The following is not a commentary on whether or not one should be a stay-at-home mom or work outside the home. It is simply me sharing the journey I am on in the job I am currently called to as a stay-at-home mom and homemaker. 

I’m pretty sure if I was to have a job review of my current job, I would receive a decent amount of constructive criticism in areas that “need improvement.”

I’m talking about my job as a mom and homemaker. The thing is that I, in some respects, have never considered that as my “job.” I have considered them my “calling” or my “ministry,”which I believe they are, but … my job? Well, I probably considered being a mom a job, but not really the whole homemaking aspect of things. And really, isn’t it hard to think of those 2 things as jobs when they really don’t fit within the paradigm of any other job you’ve ever had?

And yet, I’ve come to realize, both motherhood and homemaking are currently my primary jobs. And while there are many ways in which I simply can’t view my current responsibilities through the same lens I would view other jobs, not viewing them as a job has been to my and my family’s detriment.

You see, lately I have been struggling with lack of joy in being a mom and keeping our home. I feel discouraged and harried often. I feel as though I’m always two steps behind and that I can never catch up. I have been praying about this, asking God to reveal what on earth is going on … is it because I have 2 young, very active kiddos? Are there some heart issues or mindsets that need to change? Do I need to structure my days differently than I have been (or haven’t been)? It’s very likely that I can answer ‘yes’ to all 3 of these questions, but the one God is choosing to address first is that of my mindset toward being a mom and homemaker.

Because I haven’t seriously viewed these roles as my job, I haven’t approached my responsibilities like they are job responsibilities. Recently however, I realized that if I acted the way I sometimes do within my current job in a job outside of the home, I would definitely get some poor marks on my review. The comments would probably include word such as, unorganized, unstructured, and undisciplined, to name a few. In my former jobs as a registered nurse, would I dare fly by the seat of my pants in my day-to-day responsibilities as I often do as a mom and homemaker? Would I decide not to do certain responsibilities because I just didn’t feel like it? Would I at times do the bare minimum just to “get by?” No (at least not most of the time)! I wouldn’t because, if I did, I would affect others, both my coworkers and patients, in harmful (and even fatal) ways. I would create a stressful atmosphere for all around me. I would, quite honestly, possibly get fired if I continued to work in such a manner.

So, why is it ok for me to approach my current job in a way I would never approach a job outside the home? (gulp)

It’s not. There’s just as much, if not more, at stake.

2 beautiful ‘parts’ of my daily job

And so I embark on some really big changes in my job; in mindset and heart attitudes, in organization, and in discipline. And it’s going to take awhile, because there are a lot of areas to work on, something that is not all that easy for a, “Oh, something needs to be changed? Let’s change it completely right now,” kind of girl like myself. But, by God’s grace, I will make small changes. And then more small changes. Oh, and I know I’ll fail and fall off the bandwagon at times.

However, I know it will be incredibly worth it … especially as I seek to raise my kids in a Godly manner and to create a home in which all who live here (including me), as well as others who come in, can rest and thrive. So, let the journey begin!

– Dawn, Mom and Home-manager

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “My job review

  1. I think I know exactly how you feel. I’m kinda in the same place… but also with a boat load of guilt that I may be doing it all wrong.

    • Glad we can relate with each other in some of these areas. 🙂 But, I’m sorry about the guilt you are feeling (it’s amazing how often I hear this from moms and how often I feel it myself for different reasons) … I’m guessing you are not doing it “wrong.” Differently than others, perhaps – but probably not wrong. It’s so easy to expect perfection from yourself as a first-time mom, but it’s my belief that there’s no such thing as a perfect mom. 🙂 We will get some things wrong, we will fail our kids at times, but we’re their only moms and no one can do it like us. There’s some principles I may follow in mothering my kids, but not many hard and fast rules. Also, I learn from others but try not to compare myself to others as each child is different and what my husband and I agree to raising our kids may easily look different than even how my close friends have decided to raise their kids. Oh, and one more thing – having a child is a huge upheaval, even though a good one, to your world … give yourself some time to keep settling in and cut yourself some slack. I’m sure you’re doing a great job! One thing I do when I never seem to be able to shake the guilt of doing it ‘wrong’ is to make a list of what I’m honestly expecting of myself- 9 times out of 10, I could never in a million years accomplish that list. Once I see how absurd my expectations are for myself, I am able to let some of it go and be much more realistic. Anyway, this has turned into a novel, so I’ll stop. 🙂 I’m no expert, but I just wanted to share a few things I’ve learned from the crazy journey into motherhood ….

      • Thank you for the encouraging words! It is true… sometimes we put way too much pressure on ourselves.. not to mention I’m my biggest critic. Its good to see that I’m not the only one that feels like this sometimes. Sorry for the delayed response, I hadn’t looked into my blog for a few days,

Leave a Reply

