My Daily Roadtrip

Musings from the wildfire …

If you know me and are/or Facebook friends with me, you couldn’t miss the fact that a large wildfire started within miles of our house just over 1 week ago. For those of you who aren’t familiar with it, that same fire, otherwise known as the “Waldo Canyon fire.” has now ravaged over 18,000 acres and 350 homes, along with killing 2 people in the Colorado Springs area. Although those in control of this “incident” (fire command, etc.) are optimistic as the fire is now 45% contained, there is still concern due to the hot temperatures, low humidity, and strong winds we have been having. Although we were evacuated at one point and had to be away from our house for several additional days (beyond evacuation) due to poor air quality, our family is fine, as is our house. Despite that, the fire and its effects have weighed heavy on my heart and mind. I plan to use these next posts to, in a sense, “process” through some of the specifics that have weighed heavy on me, as well as write about some practical ways I’ve been challenged by having witnessed and been part of a natural disaster.

A shot after the fire raced into Colorado Springs this past Tuesday
photo credit: RJ Sangosti, The Denver Post

If you read my last post, you know that I recently missed the wedding celebration of a dear friend who lives out of the country because I did not realize my passport was expired, meaning that I would not be able to get back into the US post-wedding. Interestingly, the day we got evacuated from our home due to the uncertainty of the fire’s course was the very day of my friend’s wedding. Coincidence?  Irony? No. Part of God’s sovereign plan? Yes! Someone recently remarked to me that maybe we were supposed to be here while the fire broke out because it would have been stressful to be out of the country, knowing that our material possessions as well as our community could potentially be lost. Maybe. I don’t know. However, I continue to learn that God’s thoughts are not mine, nor are His ways (Isaiah 55:8). For whatever reason, we were here and not out of the country. God is good and His plan can be trusted. Those are the things I do know and they seem to be the more important things anyway …

It is really odd to be sitting in the comfort of my own home right now, knowing that others’ worlds (including 2 families from our church – 1 family who are dear friends of ours) have been turned upside down by the loss of their homes. It’s weird knowing that 1,300 firefighters are currently fighting the fire within miles of my own home in order to keep us safe while I’m enjoying a cold Diet Mt. Dew. I’ve realized that much of my life really needs to, for the sake of my own heart and mind, as well as those around me, continue as normal and yet, how can it? There is nothing “normal” about driving through Colorado Springs and noticing the charred mountainsides to the west of town. There’s nothing “normal” about seeing helicopters fly constantly back and forth from the fire to their base so that they can strategically drop buckets of water on areas of the fire. And yet life does continue on. And so must I. My roles as a mom and wife, as well as friend to others (amongst other roles) do not stop. And so I will walk forward in faith, by grace trusting the truth that nothing happens outside of God’s control. I will play with my kids. I will carry out my everyday responsibilities as much as I can. We will enjoy being together as a family (just to name a few things). However, I will also seek to help friends who have lost everything to the fire. I will grieve with those around me who are hurting in various ways due to this situation. Within, as well as outside of my family, I will seek to speak truth about the One who gives us hope during both “normal” times, as well as during natural disasters.

Because for those of us who live in the Colorado Springs area, this will be our new “normal.”

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Musings from the wildfire …

  1. Janice Henry on said:

    We continue to pray for all of you in Colorado Springs. God is in control. We must trust Him even in times like this. Blessings to ALL.

Leave a Reply

