My Daily Roadtrip

Being intentional (value #7)

The longer I live, the more I realize how importance being intentional (or purposeful, if you prefer using that word) is. If I’m not intentional in relationships, they suffer or do not grow. If I am not intentional as a mother, the right things don’t get focused on during the days I spend with the kids. If I am not intentional about living out who God made me to be, I quickly start living in ways that aren’t even remotely “me.” However, I will be the first to admit that I can be lazy – there are times or even days when I don’t want to be intentional about any of the above or quite frankly, about a lot of other things. As a result, I get frustrated, my priorities get mixed up, and it can become quite the mess. I want our family to be intentional about … well, everything we’ve been talking about since we started discussing values. Dictionary.com states that the definition of “purpose” (because its definition of “intention” basically points to the definition of “purpose”) is “the reason for which something exists or is done, made, used, etc.” (source). I realize now that this discussion of values has come full circle – the reason I even started the whole process of thinking through what values I desire our family to cultivate is so that we can be intentional with our days. Just say “no” to floundering!

I am not even going to spell out a list of practical suggestions for implementing this into our family because I can basically sum it up by saying these 2 things:

  1. Continue thinking through/tweaking the list of values for our family to cultivate and practical ways in which they can look (much like I already am).
  2. Do the things I have come up with.

That’s it.

Well, maybe it’s not quite that easy, but seriously – we don’t just need to sit around and think about all of this. We need to act!

Starting today!

And along the way, I think we need to pinpoint the things that keep us from being intentional and then weed them out of our lives. Some of traps I fall into are: laziness, being undisciplined with my time and/or getting sucked into time-wasters, and letting myself getting swept away in the whirlpool of busyness.

What are the things that keep you from being intentional?

Are you content with the intentionality that is or is not put into your days and or your life? Are you merely being swept along for the ride or are you being purposeful in relationships, tasks, and in the living out of who you were created to be?

Let’s get intentional … right now.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

