My Daily Roadtrip

Give great gifts! (#6)

We’re winding down the series on giving great (and creative!) gifts … I’ll be sharing one final idea after this one and then that will be it! I don’t know if any of the ideas have been helpful to you, but at the very least, I’ve had fun sharing them.Today’s idea is a cookbook, but not just any cookbook …

I’ve used this several times as a wedding gift, but think that it can also be appropriate for other occasions. I know that most people (maybe you) have more cookbooks that they need in their kitchen, but this cookbook is different. It will include your own tried-and-true recipes, it will share some fun information about your/your spouse with the recipients, and it will be made with much love. Now, onto the details …Pick out favorite recipes of yours and your husband’s, type them up into organized sections, (ie. desserts, salads, etc.) and add personal notes about why each is special to your family. I tend to type the recipe in one font/color and then the personal note in a font that tends to look “handwritten” and in a color different from what I typed the recipe in.

Buy a fun binder that has a clear front that you can slip your title into …I usually title mine something like, “From the Fong kitchen to the ___________ kitchen”). Then print out the recipes on 8.5” by 11” pieces of paper and slip them into clear page protectors, while organizing them into sections with dividers. I often add additional page protectors so that the gift recipients can add their own recipes in to the binder in the future if they desire. Also, I may add a page with some fun cooking tips or a page with the cooking temperatures for meat, etc. in the front (because who can ever remember those??!).The fun thing is that once you’ve done this gift once, you can always use the same recipes or some of the same recipes to make another cookbook gift, thus saving you the time of starting from complete scratch every time.

And there you go … a fun labor of love cookbook gift. Below, I’ve included one recipe/note from one of the cookbooks I’ve made in the past in case you are visual like me and need to actually view how I went about writing up each recipe and its note. And by the way, I highly recommend this recipe! Is it healthy? Nope. Is it incredibly delicious? You bet.

Enjoy compiling your own recipes into a wonderful gift for some lucky individual or couple!

***********************

Caramel Corn

Pop 8 quarts of popcorn. Set aside.

Combine the following and bring to a boil. Boil the mixture for 5 minutes.
2 c. brown sugar
1 c. cup margarine
1/2 c. white corn syrup
1 tsp. Salt

After boiling, stir in the following ingredients to the mixture:
1/2 tsp. Baking soda
1 tsp. Vanilla

Pour the mixture over the popcorn (this works best in a big bowl or several big bowls) and mix thoroughly. Spread into several 9×13 pans or a large baking pan with short edges. Bake at 250 degrees for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes.

Dawn’s note: People rave over this every time I make this and can’t believe that you can make homemade caramel corn! Oh contrare – you can! This has been made every Christmas by my mom and grandma for as long as I can remember.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

