My Daily Roadtrip

A recipe tribute to my husband …

My husband is quite the guy.

Months ago, he surprised me by buying 2 tickets to see the Broadway production of Les Miserables in Denver (he did so despite me once pronouncing Jean Valjean’s name as “Jeen Val-jeen.” Oops – sorry, honey. You married a theatrically ignorant woman!). The show was last night and unfortunately, due to Abigail’s illness, we had to sell the tickets and couldn’t go. However, what a great idea for a date – thanks, Shun-Luoi!

Then, last night, Abigail was up and crying inconsolably at 2 am. He offered to take her for a bit and although I protested, he insisted on taking a turn with her. I found out this morning that he ended up taking her for a car ride at that time of night in order to get her to relax and fall asleep. Poor guy, but he definitely won the “Dad of the middle of the night” award for that one – wow! (as a side note, he managed to stop at Dunkin’ Donuts while out with Abigail … and that made me laugh!)

Because of him being such a great husband and dad, I decided to choose one of his favorite recipes to feature today. Besides, I have offered some fairly “girly” fare this week, and figure I owe you all a good “man recipe!” It’s another soup – but hey, did I not mention I was in the mood for soup? I warned you …

Taco soup (recipe from Melody Huskerson)

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. ground hamburger or turkey, browned and drained
  • 1 can each of black, pinto, kidney, and chili beans (drain and rinse all but the chili beans)
  • 1 can of kernel corn (drain), creamed corn, diced tomatoes (or Rotel), and tomato sauce
  • 1 packet taco seasoning (I use 3-4 Tbsp. of this homemade taco seasoning)
  • 1 cup water

Directions:

  • Combine all together in a large soup pot and stir. Simmer until heated through. Another option is to combine all ingredients in the crock-pot in the morning, stir, then heat on low until supper.
  • Serve with crushed tortilla chips, cheese, and/or sour cream on top of it.
  • Another suggestion: make this cornbread to go with it. It’s so moist, unlike many cornbreads. (I need to find a way to make it a bit healthier, but have not taken the time to play around with the recipe yet.)

As you can see, the hardest thing about this recipe is the need to open so many cans. It’s so worth it, though, and is so, so easy! It makes a big pot of soup (a great recipe for a large crowd!) and it’s very hearty, thus lasting quite awhile because of the need to eat less of it at one time. My only warning to you is that, because the soup contains a lot of beans, it may take some time for your digestive system to get used to all the fiber! Consider yourself given the heads-up on that …

It’s been a fun 5 days of sharing fall recipes – I hope you have seen 1 or 2 that you may be interested in trying! So, now it’s your turn … what are your favorite fall recipes? Mention them and/or share the recipe with the rest of us by leaving a comment!

And by the way, how are your 30-day goals going? And if you haven’t made any, why not? I have loved reading consistently everyday now for 8 days and as for my pop goal, well … it’s been tough at times, particularly because we’ve had some short nights around here due to recent illness. However, I’m glad that I have cut it out for now and look forward to drinking it in a more moderate way if I do in fact return to it once October comes.

Happy Friday – have a great weekend!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

