My Daily Roadtrip

Zucchini Bread

Yep, it is fall … why, you ask?

1. My daughter, Abigail (9 months), is sick … and my husband and son were sick last week … and I feel a cold coming on – shoot!

2. When taking a walk around the neighborhood with my kids this morning, I put a winter hat on my daughter (granted, she is sick, but still (!) …)

3. I am in the mood to light candles with “spice” in their titles – right now I’m enjoying the great scent of a “vanilla spice” candle.

4. It’s the end of zucchini season, so the zucchini must be used up … asap! Like, today! Want a great recipe in which to use it in? Read on …

Growing up, my mom made an awesome chocolate chip zucchini cake – it was amazing (like most things she bakes) … so chocolatety, so moist … yum! I would never tell people that there was zucchini in it until after they tried it because it would weird them out. However, once they heard, they didn’t care because the cake was that good! Hmm … now that I’m writing about that cake, it makes me think I should share that recipe instead of the bread one I was going to share, but … I think I’ll stick with the game plan (leave a comment if you want the cake recipe!) Here it is, adapted from this recipe from Oh She Glows.

Zucchini Bread

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups white whole wheat flour (or a mixture of white and whole wheat)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 “flax egg” (1 tbsp ground flax + 3 tbsp water, mixed and set aside for 5 minutes) or 1 egg
  • 1.25 cup shredded zucchini (leave skin on), packed
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp pure maple syrup (or other liquid sweetener)
  • 1 .25 cups vanilla almond milk (or regular milk)
  • 1/3 cup walnuts, almonds, chocolate chips, or a combo of any of those can also be added if desired *

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375. Mix the flax egg and set aside. Oil a regular-sized loaf pan and set aside.
  • In a large bowl, whisk the dry ingredients (flour, powders, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, sugar, raisins*, and walnuts*).
  • In another large bowl, combine the wet ingredients (flax egg, shredded zucchini, lemon juice, maple syrup, milk).
  •  Add wet ingredients to dry and stir until just mixed. Be careful not to overmix the batter.
  • Spoon the batter into prepared loaf pan and spread out evenly.  Bake for about 35-45 minutes until toothpick comes out clean and the loaf gently springs back when pressed.

This bread is delicious – I love the combination of nutmeg and cinnamon with the moist texture. Plus, if you have any vegan friends, they can eat it, too! (The lack of eggs in the recipe is also handy when you find you have none in the fridge – that may or may not have ever happened to me!). I have made this bread twice – the first time, I added raisins, but then ended up picking them out because I don’t like raisins! The 2nd time, I added chocolate chips and no, I did not pick those out (are you crazy?). You can also bake this in a bundt pan (make for such a pretty bread!) or in regular or mini cupcake tins. I found the mini zucchini bread “muffins” to be a perfect size for my son.

So, head on out to a farmers’ market and pick some zucchini up – I got 3 large ones for $1 last Saturday – they weren’t all that pretty, but they are perfect for this bread. After baking it, light your spice candle and enjoy the beginning of fall …

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

