My Daily Roadtrip

Homemade tortillas

While tortillas don’t necessary scream, “fall” to me (see yesterday’s post), warm, homemade bread does. Since homemade tortillas are the most recent bread item I’ve attempted to make lately, I thought I’d share this great recipe I found. Tortillas are way easier to make at home than you might think …

I had been wanting to try making my own tortillas for awhile now, but was “forced” to do so the other day when I was short on items to make dinner with and had to think on the fly. Hence, the homemade tortillas so that I could make one of my most trusted “fall-back” meals – quesadillas.

*Mostly* wheat flour tortillas

(makes 18 tortillas)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 4 cups whole wheat bread flour (I used white whole wheat flour)
  • 1/2 cup shortening (I used coconut oil)
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 1/2 cups boiling water
  • all-purpose flour for rolling

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, stir together 1 cup all-purpose flour, the whole wheat flour, and salt. Cut in the shortening (coconut oil, in my case) until the mixture is the texture of oatmeal. Make a well in the center, and pour in the boiling water. Mix with a fork until all of the water is evenly incorporated. Sprinkle with a bit of additional flour, and knead until the dough does not stick to your fingers. The dough should be smooth. *I had to play around with the original water and flour amounts to get mine to the right consistency. This may have been because I used something other than shortening; I’m not sure.
  2. Make the dough into balls the size of golf balls, about 2 ounces each. Place them on a tray, and cover with a cloth. Let stand for at least 1 hour, or up to 8 hours.
  3. Heat a griddle or large frying pan to med-med/high heat. On a lightly floured surface, roll out a tortilla to your preferred thinness. Place rolled-out tortilla on the griddle (you don’t need butter or anything else in your pan) for 10 seconds, as soon as you see a bubble on the top, flip the tortilla over. Let it cook for about 30 seconds, then flip and cook the other side for another 30 seconds. Roll out the next tortilla while you wait for that one to cook. Repeat until all of the balls have been cooked. Tortillas can be refrigerated or frozen.

Original recipe found here.

*******************
I found the “frying” part to be the hardest – you may need to play with the stove temperature so that its not so hot that you end up scorching your tortillas. Once I got that down and after my first few sad-looking tortillas, I got into a groove and it became much easier (and fun!). These tortillas tasted great – I loved the very natural taste of them even though I realized that my taste buds have been conditioned to like sweet, sweet, sweet due to the sugar that’s in so many processed things, tortillas included. Because of that, I felt they were a bit bland – however, with the perfect ingredients, I think they’re great and I’m pretty sure my tastebuds will not even notice the lack of sugar once I wean more of the processed foods out of our diet. Also, I halved the recipe as it seems like the tortillas get a bit tough after 4-5 days. If you make the full recipe, I would freeze the extras, or make sure you’re having others over for dinner so you can finish them sooner than later. And then for the fun part – figuring out what to use the tortillas for:Β  quesadillas … burritos … tortilla chips … “crust” for quick pizzas … there are so many yummy options! What other ways do you like utilizing tortillas in your meals? Please share them (c’mon … don’t hold out on us)!
Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Homemade tortillas

  1. yum, you have inspired me to get back on the baking train. I kind of took a break, seeing that I just had a baby and all. But I love baking and I love fall. It’s a fabulous time of the year indeed!! Thanks for the recipe… I think I’ll try it with Alivia as my co-baker! πŸ™‚

  2. p.s. the above comment was supposed to be for the zucchini bread post. ah well! πŸ™‚

  3. Do you have a corn torilla recipe that you’ve tried. Since I’ve discovered how sick wheat flours (gluten products) make me, I’m watching for things I can eat. I don’t care for corn BUT I love many south of the border style foods and would love to have a good tortilla recipe to use that I and my children will thrive on.

Leave a Reply

