My Daily Roadtrip

Fall cooking

Happy Labor Day!

It must be fall … last weekend was opening weekend for college football (Go, Badgers!!), the air cooler, pants have been worn, and I’m in the mood for soup. 🙂 Is anyone else with me? In that light, and because I’ve been really interested in learning more about nutrition, natural foods, etc. for the past 3-4 months, I thought I would share some recipes I’ve discovered as of late that will go great with the fall season. So here we go … 5 recipes for the next 5 days!

First up, we have a great soup I discovered on a blog I have begun to follow recently. Oh She Glows happens to be a vegan blog and while I’ll never be vegan, I have enjoyed learning more about using things other than meats/daily products to make different dishes. The original recipe can be found here but I will share my adapted (non-vegan) version here.

Tortilla Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1.5 cups chopped onion
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 bell peppers, chopped
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • 1 ear fresh corn
  • 3 tbsp ground cumin
  • One 28-oz can crushed tomatoes
  • 4-4.5 cups chicken broth (vegetable could also be used)
  • 1.5-2 cups cooked black beans
  • 1-1.5 cups of cooked, chopped or shredded chicken (I used rotisserie chicken)
  • salt & pepper & crushed red chili pepper, to taste

Directions:

1. In a large pot over medium to low heat, add the olive oil, onion, and garlic. Sauté for about 5 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, chop the peppers, zucchini, green onion, and remove corn from cob (uncooked). Add the veggies into the pot and sauté for another 5-10 minutes.

3. Add in the crushed tomatoes, cumin, beans, cooked chicken (optional), and broth. Stir well and season with salt and pepper. Simmer on low-medium heat for 25-30 minutes.

4. When the soup is done simmering, it can be topped with top with chopped avocado, fresh lime juice, cheese, green onion, and/or tortilla chips. Enjoy!

**************

I’ve eaten tortilla soup before, but never one with this robust of a flavor or with so many vegetables (you can use your “end of the season” zucchini!) – it was delicious! I only topped it with crushed tortilla chips, as I didn’t think it needed any other additions, but you could add whatever else you may enjoy on it. Our family ate this soup last night in the cool evening air while on our back deck – ahhh (deep sigh), welcome fall. 🙂

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Fall cooking

  1. Christine on said:

    Sounds wonderful!!! I think I’ll try it this week! Nice work on the blog 🙂

    • Thanks, Christine! You were one I was hoping I could reconnect with via this blog (and I’m back on FB a bit now, too) … I hope being a family of 5 now is going well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

